ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The production of the **ABA Directory of Law Governing Appointment of Counsel in State Civil Proceedings** was a multi-year project of the American Bar Association's Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defendants (SCLAID). Many individuals volunteered countless hours to create this resource.

We gratefully acknowledge the contributions to this project by the National Coalition for a Civil Right to Counsel (NCCRC). NCCRC shared its impressive body of research on existing law authorizing or denying appointment of counsel in civil proceedings, which was adapted to form the Directory's reports. Additionally, John Pollock, NCCRC's Coordinator, played an instrumental role in recruiting law firms and law schools to update NCCRC's research, reviewing and editing research reports, developing ideas for the Directory's website, and many other project tasks.

This Directory would not have been possible without the work of Shubhangi Deoras, a Consultant to SCLAID who spent innumerable pro bono hours beyond those for which she was compensated coordinating research, finalizing the reports on each jurisdiction, and pulling together everyone's work into a useful format.

Additional special recognition is due to Justice Earl Johnson, Jr., former Associate Justice of the California Court of Appeal (Second Appellate District, Division Seven) and leading scholar in the field of equal access to justice. Justice Johnson formulated the idea of a resource for state judges regarding existing mandatory and discretionary powers to appoint counsel in civil proceedings, and has provided invaluable guidance and expertise at every stage, providing careful review and editing of the research for the reports contained within the Directory. We are also indebted to an editing team, including Hon. Edward J. Schoenbaum, Member of the ABA Working Group on Civil Right to Counsel, and John Pollock, NCCRC Coordinator.

Leadership of the ABA Working Group on Civil Right to Counsel and for this project was provided by former ABA President Michael S. Greco, who has served as a strong and consistent advocate for an expanded right to counsel in civil matters. Important additional leadership and advocacy for this project and for expanded access to justice through a civil right to counsel was provided by ABA Board of Governors member Robert L. Rothman. Other members of the Working Group on Civil Right to Counsel contributed greatly as well, especially with regard to recruiting law firms, law schools, and others to assist with updating the initial research. These members include: Peter H. Carson (Section of Business Law); Margaret Drew (Commission on Domestic Violence); Justice Earl Johnson, Jr. (SCLAID); Wiley E. Mayne, Jr. (Section of Litigation); Neil McBride (SCLAID); JoNel Newman (Commission on Immigration); Robert L. Rothman (Section of Litigation/SCLAID); Hon. Edward J. Schoenbaum (Judicial Division/Coalition for Justice); Robert Stein (SCLAID); Michelle Tilton (Section of Tort Trial and Insurance Practice); Robert Weeks (SCLAID); and Lisa C. Wood (Section of Litigation/SCLAID). The ABA Working Group on Civil Right to Counsel is staffed by Terrence J. Brooks, Counsel for SCLAID, and Shubhangi Deoras, Consultant to SCLAID.

We were fortunate to procure the volunteer services of a great many individuals to assist with the task of updating the research to be used in this Directory. Specifically, the following law firm associates, law school professors, and law students deserve credit: Jaimie Fried Dockray (Bingham McCutheon); Nicole Bergstrom (Bingham McCutchen LLP); Professor Jill Engle (Pennsylvania State University Law School); Professor Betsy de la Vega (Stanford University Law School); Professor Nancy Stuart (University of California at Hastings Law School); Professor Martha Davis (Northeastern University Law School); Zachary Lown (Northeastern University Law School)—law student); Professor Eve Klothen (Rutgers School of Law—Camden); Professor Sarah Ricks (Rutgers School of Law—Camden); Professor Betsy McKenzie (Suffolk University Law School); Professor Mia Friedman (Suffolk University Law School); Laura McWilliams (Suffolk University Law School—law student); Joshua Sylla (Suffolk University Law School—law student); Jamie Matthews (Suffolk University Law School—law student); Professor Brian Gilmore (Michigan State University Law School); Professor Louis Rulli (University of Pennsylvania Law School); Rene Kathawala (Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP); Professor Hilary Wandler (University of Montana Law School); Professor John Korzen (Wake Forest University Law School); Will Peete (Wake Forest University Law School—law student); Bethany Corbin (Wake Forest University Law School—law student); Hunter Fritz (Wake Forest University Law School—law student); Alison McCowan (Wake Forest University Law School—law student); Matt Meyers (Wake Forest University Law School—law student); Professor Penny White (University of Tennessee Law School at Knoxville); Brian Puster (University of Tennessee Law School at Knoxville—law student); and Professor Helen Gaebler (University of Texas Law School at Austin). Additionally, Professor Martha Davis and her team of law students at Northeastern University Law School graciously contributed the Appendix on International Law for this Directory.

The ABA Board of Governors, and a number of donors to the ABA Fund for Justice and Education, including Justice Earl Johnson, Jr., provided financial support for this project.

On behalf of SCLAID, I extend heartfelt thanks to all of these contributors for their generous assistance with this important resource.

Lisa C. Wood

Chair, Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defendants